Festival Review: Bonnaroo X (Sunday) **Plus Pretty Lights Video**

17 Jun

Sunday at Bonnaroo held some mixed feelings for me.  On one hand I was extremely sad that this magical weekend was coming to an end and trying to figure out if I could still function in ‘normal’ society again.  On the other hand, I was getting pretty tired of waking up with the damned sun and I smelled so badly I don’t think showers wanted me to get in them! But the show must go on…

Highlights for Sunday included legendary Allman Brothers Singer/Organ player Gregg Allman, who did his own take on classic Allman Brothers songs like, “Dreams”, “Blue Sky”, “Mellissa” and a number of his own songs. And speaking of legends how about the mainstage performance by Robert Plant & Band of Joy that I think pretty much blew everyone away!  Being that this was as close to Led Zeppelin as I will ever get, I’ll take it.  I love how Robert Plant is now doing his own take on Country/Bluegrass music.  He has truly mastered both worlds, first of course being British Blues/Rock and now American Country/Bluegrass.  What can’t he do!  Highlights of this for me, however, had to be his take on classic Led Zeppelin tunes like “Houses of the Holy”.  I felt as if I was in the presence of a God. Robert Plant has still got it, and shows no signs of slowing down.  

 

Next I was able to catch some of The Strokes set on the smaller “Which” stage.  I’ve been waiting years to see The Strokes and although I feel their new album is on the weaker side, their performance did not disappoint me one bit. Lead singer Julian Casablancas didn’t seem to be too drunk this show so I think all in all it went smoothly.  

Superjam one of Bonnaroo’s strongest traditions was up next.  Superjam is a performance held every year at Bonnaroo consisting of a collaboration of that years top artists.  Past Superjams have included collaborations from Les Claypool, Phil Lesh, Mike Gordon, Trey Anastasio, Kirk Hammett, and many others.  This year was a treat, as we got to see Dan Auerbach, guitarist of the Black Keys, Dr. John keyboardist of The Original Meters, and Patrick Hallahan drummer of My Morning Jacket, along with other musicians notably from The Preservation Hall Jazz Band performing classic New Orleans Funk and Blues  songs.  

The Strokes

 

And finally to close the weekend out Widespread Panic, another six time Bonnaroo veteran band,  played A 2.5 hour set on the main stage. Widespread was a really great closing act for the festival. Their light show was pretty unreal and chaotic which matched well to their guitar shredding rock music.  

Unfortunately Bonnaroo is too huge and I couldn’t see everyone I wanted so heres a list of artists I was sad I had to miss:

Florence & The Machine, Ray Lamontagne, !!! (Chk Chk Chk), Big Boi, Wiz Khalifa, Loretta Lynn, Girl Talk, Gogol Bordello, Railroad Earth, G. Love and the Special Sauce, Explosions in the Sky, Eminem, Lil Wayne, Cold War Kids, Iron and Wine, Bootsy Collins, All of the Comedy Lineup!

All in all it was an UNREAL weekend.  It defiantly took a toll on my sleeping and eating habits, but it was well worth it.  Not only was the music just unforgettable, but it was the other little things like the ferris wheel, clock tower, food trucks, waterslide, mushroom fountain, and just the people and atmosphere that truly make Bonnaroo the magical event it is.  WEST LA CNCT LOVES BONNAROO!  So Superfly, if you are reading this, please hook it up with some press passes next year! 


Spread the love.Share the wealth. WEST LA CNCT™

-Mike.D

Leave a Reply

